Review With Extreme Prejudice
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A discussion of games, reviews, previews and more.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

LA Noire is a game

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Uberman
Admin
Uberman

LA Noire is a game Empty
PostSubject: LA Noire is a game   LA Noire is a game EmptyFri May 20, 2011 11:54 am

This game could've been written for me.

If you saw the last RWEP vid, you might have picked up on the fact that I love film Noir. I have a degree in cinema studies and wrote my senior thesis on film Noir. And this game hits the aesthetic dead on. Perfect.

Plus I love open world games. Plus I love heavily story-based games. Plus I love Rockstar design.

I like this game very much.

Which is not to say its perfect. One of my bitches about Mafia and its sequel was that they created a big, detailed world and then didn't give you much to do in it. This is similiar. There are some side missions (street crimes) but they're all pretty basic. There are 95 cars, but there doesn't seem to be much point in driving anything other than your default cruiser. It fits in with the game's style, it's played straight so it would be a bit wierd to go off driving taxis or whatever, but the world does feel a little bit wasted.

The other downside is that there seems to be a bit of 'guess what the developer is thinking' involved, a feature of bad adventure games back in the day. The interrogations can see a bit arbitrary, the choices can seem a bit too close to each other at times. Plus, I lost points on one mission for not going back to a location I had no reason to go back to, and on another mission basically because I chose to go to one location before going to another. No clues as to this, just a random choice and I picked the wrong one.

So far from perfect, but still awesome. Not for everyone I'm sure, but certainly for me.
Back to top Go down